The Fringe | Conspiracy, News, Politics, and Fun Forum!

Full Version: Any Genealogy Buffs Here?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've been researching for about 20 years.  I love the stories of my ancestors and seeing how they intertwined with history (big history buff too).

I recently came across the story of how my great great grandmother died.  Now, my grandmother would always say "kids will be the death of ya".  I took it that the usual worry, stress, and heartache was what she was talking about.  NOPE!  She was serious.   Chuckle  

Aunt Maggie, and two of their children, were killed one
summer and several others were injured. She was sitting under a tree mending, and two of the
boys found a bomb left over from the Civil war, that looked like a teakettle. So they hit it with an
ax and it exploded, killing her and two of the children.  One of the boys, Bill had his arm torn
off.

Her grandmother was killed by her children.

My great grandfather was a baby at the time, tended to by his sister in the house...thankfully.

I would enjoy hearing some of yours if you'd like to share.  I also have many more...
(06-03-2018, 11:33 PM)Suzy Q Wrote: [ -> ]I've been researching for about 20 years.  I love the stories of my ancestors and seeing how they intertwined with history (big history buff too).

I recently came across the story of how my great great grandmother died.  Now, my grandmother would always say "kids will be the death of ya".  I took it that the usual worry, stress, and heartache was what she was talking about.  NOPE!  She was serious.   Chuckle  

summer and several others were injured. She was sitting under a tree mending, and two of the
boys found a bomb left over from the Civil war, that looked like a teakettle. So they hit it with an
ax and it exploded, killing her and two of the children.  One of the boys, Bill had his arm torn
off.